Committee Charge

The AIC oversees committees, existing or developed, that serve as inputs to its overall scope. Active committees established prior to the university-wide IT Governance (ITG) framework who wish to provide input into the AIC, require approval by the Strategic IT Committee (SITC) to be recognized in the ITG framework.

New committees, task forces, IT Communities of Practice (ITCoPs) or IT Stakeholder Steering Groups (ITSsGs) may be created by the AIC.

The AIC produces the following outputs, including, but not limited to:

  • Develop technical architectures or recommendations as prioritized by the SITC to ensure resource optimization and strategic alignment.
  • Optimize the design, delivery, operation and sourcing of university-wide IT service architectures, and the development of fulfillment strategies or plans to be analyzed by other ITG committees and the SITC.
  • Conduct an annual review of the overall Texas A&M University IT Service Portfolio and provide recommendations to the SITC for adding, changing and removing services with recommended changes in technical architectures and solutions.
  • Develop recommendations and technical architectures for technologies as requested by the Research & Innovative Technologies Committee (RITC), Enterprise Applications Committee (EAC) and Teaching & Transformational Learning Technologies Committee (TTLTC).
  • Initiate recommendations for new or changed technical architectures or technologies during the normal course of committee function.
  • Evaluate, develop and maintain technical standards for university-wide application program interfaces and protocols in partnership with the EAC.
  • Inform the SITC about existing or potential operational or technical issues, as a result of new or existing technical, architectures and escalate issues as appropriate.
  • Evaluate the impact of proposed university and institutional data systems, infrastructure and applications to existing resources with corollary recommendations for the retirement of existing services from a technical architecture perspective with related solutions.

The AIC votes and makes decisions within the above charge and scope. The AIC receives the following inputs, including, but not limited to:

  • Recommendations and decisions that are out of scope for the following committees:
    • Research & Innovative Technologies Committee (RITC)
    • Information Risk, Policy & Security Committee (IRPSC)
    • Enterprise Applications Committee (EAC)
    • Teaching & Transformational Learning Technologies Committee (TTLTC)
  • Any recognized ITG input body.
  • Analysis activities and recommendations requested by any ITG Committee.

Policy, Decisions and Exception Facilitation

The AIC transitions risk, policy and security issues to the IRPSC identified through the course of its scope. All other exceptions are raised to the SITC.

University Representation

Permanent Members (Voting)

  • Division of IT - Chief Technology Officer (CTO) (Chairperson)
  • 1 Division of IT Representative (By appointment of the CTO)
  • 1 Academic Services IT Representative (By appointment of the Vice President for Enrollment and Academic Services)
  • 5 IT Professionals (By appointment of the Vice President for IT and Chief Information Officer (CIO))
  • 1 Division of Finance and Operations IT Representative (By appointment of the Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations and Chief Financial Officer (CFO))
  • 1 Vice President for Research Representative (By appointment of the Vice President for Research)
  • 1 Division of Student Affairs IT Representative (By appointment of the Vice President for Student Affairs)
  • 1 Faculty Member (By appointment of the Provost)

Ex-officio Members (Non-Voting)

  • Chairperson - Enterprise Applications Committee (EAC)
  • Division of IT - Associate Director for Networking
  • Division of IT - Associate Director for Systems Engineering (or designee)

Terms and Procedures

Chairperson: The Division of IT Chief Technology Officer serves as the chairperson for the AIC.

Member Terms: Each member shall serve a term of two years beginning in September and ending in August during the second year of membership. The Chairperson will request up to five members serve a second term to ensure continuity of experience in the committee. Supplemental term information is available in the Schedule of Terms.

Ex-Officio Members: The Chairperson of the Enterprise Applications Committee, Division of IT Associate Director for Networking, and Division of IT Associate Director for Systems Engineering (or designee) shall serve as ex-officio members for the AIC.

Meeting frequency: The AIC meets on the second Thursday of each month. Meeting cadence is monthly due to the extended scope, rich technical solution initiation and development nature of the committee’s work. The committee will determine modifications to the meeting schedule as needed.

Reporting: The Office of the CIO will report on decisions and maintain electronic communication mediums for distributing university-wide information for the AIC.

Documentation of proceedings: All meetings will have minutes of discussions, decisions and action items that are published within two weeks of the proceeding.

Voting: Each voting member will have one vote counting toward a decision/vote, where a quorum of six is needed from within the 12 voting members. The Chief Technology Officer shall have authority in deciding tied or failed votes/decisions.

Research and Supplemental Input Mechanisms: The committee may establish, at its discretion, additional ad hoc committees, task forces, ITCoPs or ITSsGs, as needed.