Committee Charge

The SITC produces the following outputs, including, but not limited to:

  • University-wide recommendations, strategies and special reports for the EITC including:
    • IT funding strategies
    • Policy that sets precedent as received by the IRPSC
    • IT strategic plans
    • IT principles
  • Final decision on issues originating in the Research & Innovative Technologies Committee (RITC), Enterprise Application Committee (EAC), Teaching & Transformational Learning Technologies Committee (TTLTC) and Architecture & Infrastructure Committee (AIC) where EITC approval is not required.
  • Recommendations on information risk, policy and security to the IRPSC committee.*
  • Requests to all other committees for the exploration of new IT opportunities, resolving IT issues and recommending courses of action related to the scope of a respective committee.
  • Requests to all other ITG input bodies for presentations and reports on IT strategy, operations, plans, technical architecture or policy matters from across the university.
  • Requests to IT organizations across the university for presentation and reports on IT strategy, operations, plans, technical architecture or policy matters from across the university.

* Each committee in the ITG framework is responsible for identifying and drafting IT policies relative to their scope with the intention of routing to the Information Risk, Policy, and Security Committee (IRPSC). The SITC drafts IT policies that do not fit within the scope of the other ITG framework committees (e.g., it will route policies in draft status for review by the IRPSC before submission to the Chief Information Officer (CIO)).

The SITC receives the following inputs, including, but not limited to:

  • Recommendations and decisions that are out of scope for the following committees:
    • Research & Innovative Technologies Committee (RITC)
    • Information Risk, Policy & Security Committee (IRPSC)
    • Enterprise Applications Committee (EAC)
    • Teaching & Transformational Learning Technologies Committee (TTLTC)
    • Architecture & Infrastructure Committee (AIC)
  • Any recognized ITG input body.

Policy, Decisions and Exception Facilitation

The SITC has the authority to execute strategic, operational, planning, technical and policy decisions, as well as offer exceptions to a decision from any other ITG committee.

University Representation

Permanent Attending Members (Voting)

  • Vice President for IT and Chief Information Officer
  • Vice President for Enrollment and Academic Services
  • 1 Council of Deans Representative
  • 1 Faculty Senate Representative
  • 2 Faculty Members (Appointed by the Provost)
  • 1 Council of Principal Investigators (CPI) Representative
  • 1 Student Government Association Representative
  • 1 Graduate and Professional Student Council Representative
  • 3 Campus Leaders (By appointment of the President) *
  • 1 Staff Council Representative
  • 1 IT Professional (By appointment of the Vice President for IT and CIO)
  • 1 TAMU Galveston Representative **
  • 1 TAMU Qatar Representative **

Ex-officio Members (Non-Voting)

  • Chairperson - Architecture & Infrastructure Committee (AIC)
  • Chairperson - Enterprise Applications Committee (EAC)
  • Chairperson - Information Risk, Policy & Security Committee (IRPSC)
  • Chairperson - Research & Innovative Technologies Committee (RITC)
  • Chairperson - Teaching & Transformational Learning Technologies Committee (TTLTC)
  • Division of IT - Executive Director & Deputy Chief Information Officer
  • Office of Budget and Planning - Associate Vice President Representative

* One campus leader from among the Presidential appointments must be from the Health Sciences Center.

** Selected representative from Texas A&M University - Galveston and Texas A&M University - Qatar must be a faculty member.

Terms and Procedures

Chairperson: A chairperson is elected during the July meeting each year, and serves a one-year term beginning with the September SITC meeting.

Member Terms: Each member shall serve a term of two years beginning in August or September, depending upon scheduling, and ending in May during the second year of membership. The Chairperson will request up to three members to serve a second term to ensure continuity of membership in the committee. The Vice President for Enrollment and Academic Services has a permanent voting member role. Supplemental term information is available in the Schedule of Terms.

Ex-Officio Members: Each chairperson on the governance committees that report into the SITC serve as ex-officio members in the SITC to maintain alignment. The Office of Budget and Planning Representative will attend as ex-officio, along with the Division of IT Executive Director and Deputy Chief Information Officer (or related top-level financial leader role for the Division of IT), due to the financial charge of the SITC.

Meeting frequency: The SITC meets a minimum of four meetings per year (up to six meetings where necessary) on the second Wednesday of February, May, August and November. The committee will determine modifications to the meeting schedule as needed based on current activities. Meetings will be staggered to avoid conflict with other governance bodies.

Reporting: The Office of the CIO will report on decisions and maintain electronic communication mediums for distributing university-wide information for the SITC.

Documentation of proceedings: All meetings will have minutes of discussions, decisions and action items that are published within two weeks of the proceeding.

Voting: The chair (VP for IT & CIO) shall execute decisions for the committee, with all attending members offering input to items that are raised to a decision/vote. Attending members, with the exception of ex-officio members, will be “polled” for their position on items raised to a decision. The VP for IT & CIO has the final authority in the decision process. A quorum is not required for a meeting to proceed.

Research and Supplemental Input Mechanisms: The committee may establish, at its discretion, additional ad hoc committees, task forces, IT Communities of Practice (ITCoPs), or IT Stakeholder Steering Groups (ITSsGs), as needed. Alternatively, the committee may charge any ITG committee with the establishment of a research mechanism.