Purpose

Texas A&M's current contract with eCampus (a.k.a. Blackboard Learn) will expire August 31, 2021. As a result, Texas A&M Vice President of IT and Chief Information Officer, Dee Childs, directed the IT Governance program to develop a faculty-centric Learning Management System (LMS) selection committee to review LMS systems currently available in the marketplace.

A LMS Selection Committee was formed on September 14th, 2018 and will submit a recommendation for a replacement LMS by Summer, 2019. This committee is comprised of faculty and staff and student representatives from all TAMU colleges and campuses. A new LMS for TAMU will be selected and phased in to replace eCampus by 2021.

The LMS selection subcommittee (LMS-SC), a part of the IT Governance Program - Teaching & Transformational Learning Technologies Committee (TTLTC), is co-chaired by Dr. James Snell, Director of Instructional Technology Services, and Dr. Catharina Laporte, Chairperson of the TTLTC. The LMS-SC will be active for nine months, beginning on September 14, 2018, and ending on May 17, 2019, culminating in the publication of an LMS Selection report.


The committee has selected to review the following LMS products as part of this review process:

  1. Canvas
  2. BlackBoard Ultra
  3. Brightspace (D2L)

 

Members

The LMS-SC is comprised of at least one faculty member from every College and in some cases, one or more expert staff members who use the existing LMS or a non-centrally supported LMS. There will be opportunities for staff and students to participate as the LMS-SC works to engage the University. Staff and students will also be given the opportunity to provide feedback through their College's respective LMS-SC member.

Member College or Division

Dr. Paul Brandt
paul-c-brandt@tamu.edu
Associate Professor & Associate Dean for Academic Technology and Curriculum Innovation

College of Medicine

Rebecca Burgner
rlburgner@tamu.edu
Instructional Designer III

Bush School of Government and Public Service

William Byrnes
williambyrnes@law.tamu.edu
Executive Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Special Projects

School of Law

Dr. Stephen Caffey
scaffey@arch.tamu.edu 
Associate Department Head for Research / MS and PhD Coordinator

College of Architecture

Dr. Genny Carrillo
gcarrillo@tamu.edu 
Associate Professor

School of Public Health

Tara Gray
tara.d.gray@tamu.edu
Director of Professional Development

Division of Human Resources & Organizational Effectiveness

Gerald Hughes
hughesg@tamug.edu
Distance Education Support Staff

Texas A&M at Galveston

Dr. Michelle Pine
mpine@cvm.tamu.edu
Clinical Associate Professor

College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences

Dr. Jon Jasperson
jjasperson@mays.tamu.edu
Clinical Professor and Assistant Dean of Learning Transformation & Academic Technology

Mays Business School

Dr. David Jimenez
david.jimenez@tamu.edu
Assistant Research Scientist, Educational Psychology

College of Education and Human Development

Konstantinos Kakosimos k.kakosimos@qatar.tamu.edu
Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering

Texas A&M University at Qatar

Joshua Kissee
joshua.kissee@tamu.edu
Chief of Staff to the Vice President for IT and Chief Information Officer (CIO)

Texas A&M, IT Governance Program

Miklos Kovacs
miklos.kovacs@tamu.edu
IT Manager III

Texas A&M University at Qatar

Dr. Catharina Laporte
claporte@tamu.edu
Chairperson of the TTLTC
Instructional Assistant Professor, Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts

Texas A&M (Co-Chair)

Dr. Stephen McDonald stephen.mcdonald@tamhsc.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor, Restorative Sciences

College of Dentistry

James McGrath
jmcgrath@law.tamu.edu
Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Academic Support, Bar Passage, & Compliance

School of Law

Sharon Mainka
smainka@tamu.edu
Assistant Chief of Staff to the Vice President for IT and Chief Information Officer (CIO)

Texas A&M, IT Governance Program

Dr. Joan Mileski
mileskij@tamug.edu
Professor and Head, Maritime Administration

Texas A&M at Galveston

Dr. Theresa Murphrey
t-murphrey@tamu.edu
Associate Professor, Department of Leadership, Education, and Communications

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Dr. Sunay Palsole
sunay.palsole@tamu.edu
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Engineering Remote Education

College of Engineering

Dr. Steven Peterson peterson@pharmacy.tamhsc.edu
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

College of Pharmacy

Dr. Henry Potter
hpotter@tamu.edu
Assistant Professor, Oceanography

College of Geosciences

Dr. Asha Rao
asha@tamu.edu
Senior Lecturer, Department of Biology

College of Science

Dr. Bryan Rasmussen
brasmussen@tamu.edu
Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering

College of Engineering

Dr. James Snell
j-snell@tamu.edu
Director of Instructional Technology Services

Texas A&M University (Co-Chair)

Dr. Adolfo Santos
adolfo.santos45@tamu.edu
Assistant Provost

Texas A&M University – Higher Education Center at McAllen

Dr. Kati Stoddard
kstoddard@tamu.edu
Instructional Assistant Professor, Plant Pathology & Microbiology

College of Agriculture and Life Science

Dr. Noelle Sweany
nsweany@tamu.edu
Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Psychology

College of Education and Human Development

Dr. Andrew Tag
atag@bio.tamu.edu
Senior Lecturer, Biology

College of Science

Dr. Heather Wilkinson
h-wilkinson@tamu.edu
Professor & Associate Dean of Faculties for Faculty Development

Dean of Faculties

Kris Wuensche
wuensche@tamu.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor and Director

College of Nursing